top of page
Rider_TAMA.png
W-IMG_0712.jpg
W-IMG_0707.jpg
Site-FreundeskreisOL3.jpg
W-IMG_0705.jpg
W-IMG_0708.jpg
W-IMG_0710.jpg

History and collections

The Tel Aviv Museum of Art is one of the most important museums in Israel. The municipal museum was founded in 1932 by Tel Aviv's first mayor Meir Dizengoff in his private home and is now the country's most important exhibition venue for modern art. The focus is on the Impressionists of the late 19th century and modern art of the first half of the 20th century. The unique profile of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art results from the combination of works by Israeli and international artists. Tania Coen-Uzzielli has been the director of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art since 2019.
 
The collection of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art has expanded remarkably since its foundation thanks to numerous donations from artists, collectors and friends from all over the world. Accordingly, the locations and buildings have also developed continuously. The museum is currently divided between three buildings in the center of the city: the main building on Shaul Hamelech Boulevard, the Helena Rubinstein Pavilion and the Herta and Paul Amir building, which also houses the Gallery of German Friends. In addition, the museum has extended exhibition areas such as the sculpture garden.

The museum sees itself as a platform for contemporary art and boundary-breaking forms of expression such as photography, video, fashion, design and architecture. Through modern museum work, the Tel Aviv Museum of Art consciously appeals to all social strata of the ethnic groups living in Israel and has become firmly established in the public consciousness. Interdisciplinary cultural events, conferences, concerts, dance and film events take place regularly on the stages and in the auditorium of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art and enjoy great popularity far beyond the borders of Tel Aviv.

In addition to the current exhibitions, the museum houses the following collections:

 

  • Modern and contemporary art

  • Israeli art

  • Printmaking and drawings

  • Photography

  • Architecture and design

  • Old Masters Continuing

 

Information about the Tel Aviv Museum of Art can be found here:https://www.tamuseum.org.il/en/

 

bottom of page

Historie und Sammlungen

Tel Aviv Museum of Art

Das Tel Aviv Museum of Art gehört zu den bedeutendsten Museen Israels. Das städtische Museum wurde 1932 von Tel Avivs erstem Bürgermeister Meir Dizengoff in seinem Privathaus gegründet und ist heute die wichtigste Ausstellungsstätte des Landes für moderne Kunst. Schwerpunkte sind die Impressionisten des späten 19. Jahrhunderts sowie die Moderne der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Das einmalige Profil des Tel Aviv Museum of Art ergibt sich aus der Kombination von Werken israelischer und internationaler Künstler. Seit 2012 ist Suzanne Landau die Leiterin des Tel Aviv Museum of Art.

 

Die Sammlung des Tel Aviv Museum of Art hat sich seit der Gründung dank zahlreicher Spenden von Künstlern, Sammlern und Freunden aus der ganzen Welt äußerst bemerkenswert erweitert. Dementsprechend haben sich auch Standorte und Gebäude kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Das Museum ist derzeit auf drei Gebäude im Zentrum der Stadt aufgeteilt: dem Hauptgebäude auf dem Shaul Hamelech Boulevard, dem Helena Rubinstein Pavillon und dem Herta und Paul Amir Gebäude, das auch die Galerie der Deutschen Freunde beherbergt. Zusätzlich verfügt das Haus über erweiterte Ausstellungsflächen wie den Skulpturengarten.

 

Das Museum versteht sich als eine Plattform für zeitgenössisches Kunstschaffen und Grenzen durchbrechende Ausdrucksformen wie Fotografie, Video, Mode, Design und Architektur. Durch moderne Museumsarbeit spricht das Tel Aviv Museum of Art bewusst alle sozialen Schichten der in Israel lebenden Volksgruppen an und hat mittlerweile einen festen Stellenwert im Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit. Auf den Bühnen und im Auditorium des Tel Aviv Museum of Art finden regelmäßig interdisziplinäre Kulturveranstaltungen, Konferenzen, Konzerte, Tanz- und Film-Events statt, die sich großer Beliebtheit weit über die Grenzen Tel Avivs hinaus erfreuen.

 

Neben den aktuellen Ausstellungen beherbergt das Museum folgende Sammlungen:

 

  • Moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst

  • Israelische Kunst

  • Druckgrafik und Zeichnungen

  • Fotografie

  • Architektur und Design

  • Alte Meister Weiterführende

 

Informationen zum Tel Aviv Museum of Art http://www.tamuseum.org.il

 

© Deutsche Freunde des Tel Aviv Museum of Art

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean