top of page

The Gallery of German Friends is part of the Herta and Paul Amir Building, which opened on October 31, 2011 with paintings and sculptures by the German artist Anselm Kiefer. As an architecturally high-quality exhibition venue, the Friends of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art felt it was predestined for the establishment of their gallery.

The opening exhibition of the Gallery of German Friends featured an impressive collection of German Expressionist prints, some of which came from the Jewish Museum in Berlin. The first director of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Dr. Karl Schwarz, opened the Jewish Museum Berlin shortly before the National Socialists seized power. In June 1933, Dr. Schwarz emigrated to Tel Aviv with a large part of the outstanding art collection and, at the request of the then mayor of Tel Aviv, Meir Dizengoff, set up the art museum he had founded. Works by famous artists such as George Grosz, Otto Dix, Max Beckmann and Emil Nolde were on display at the opening. The museum also owns 150 prints by the Norwegian artist Edvard Munch, making it one of the world's largest Munch collections.

The association contributed financially to the construction of the new building and financed the entire cost of the gallery from donations. The Gallery of German Friends sees itself as an interface between Israel and Germany on a museum level. By initiating collaborations with German museums and collections, the association stimulates cultural exchange and provides a representative platform for German art, which is currently experiencing great interest in Israel.

bottom of page

1811
1467
1753
1470
94
1764
1478
1476
1814
97

Historie

Deutsche Galerie

Die Galerie der deutschen Freunde ist Bestandteil des Herta und Paul Amir Gebäudes, das am 31. Oktober 2011 mit Bildern und Skulpturen des deutschen Künstlers Anselm Kiefer eröffnet wurde. Als architektonisch hochwertiger Ausstellungsort erschien er den Freunden des Tel Aviv Museum of Art prädestiniert für die Einrichtung ihrer Galerie.

Die Eröffnungsausstellung der Galerie der deutschen Freunde zeigte eine beeindruckende Sammlung von Grafiken des deutschen Expressionismus, die teilweise aus dem Jüdischen Museum in Berlin stammt. Der erste Leiter des Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Dr. Karl Schwarz, eröffnete kurz vor der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten das Jüdische Museum Berlin. Im Juni 1933 emigrierte Dr. Schwarz mit einem Großteil der herausragenden Kunstsammlung nach Tel Aviv und baute, auf Bitte des damaligen Bürgermeisters der Stadt Tel Aviv, Meir Dizengoff, das von ihm gegründete Kunstmuseum auf. Zu sehen waren bei der Eröffnung u.a. Werke von bekannten Künstlern wie George Grosz, Otto Dix, Max Beckmann und Emil Nolde. Im Besitz des Museums sind auch 150 Drucke des norwegischen Künstlers Edvard Munch, die eine der weltweit größten Munch-Sammlungen darstellen.

Der Verein hat sich finanziell an der Errichtung des Neubaus beteiligt und die vollständigen Kosten für die Galerie aus Spendengeldern finanziert. Die Galerie der deutschen Freunde versteht sich als Schnittstelle zwischen Israel und Deutschland auf musealer Ebene. Durch die Initiierung von Kooperationen mit deutschen Museen und Sammlungen regt der Verein den kulturellen Austausch an und gibt der deutschen Kunst, die aktuell ein großes Interesse in Israel erfährt, eine repräsentative Plattform.